Inventory of macroalgae and benthic macroinvertebrates along a hypoosmolarity stress gradient in Barthelemy Bay and the Colombier, Mistassini, Franquelin and Saint-Nicolas rivers of the Upper North Shore, Quebec

This inventory, from September 26 to October 3, 2019, aimed to describe the structures in species and then in functional traits of the macroalgae and benthic macroinvertebrate communities from the small estuaries of the Upper North Shore of Quebec, namely Barthelemy Bay and the Colombier, Mistassini, Franquelin and Saint-Nicolas rivers. Three hypoosmotic stress levels and one control level (marine water) were targeted for each of the selected estuaries, with eight quadrats per level. The highest stress level sites were located closest to the river mouths (where freshwater inflow is greatest at low tide) while the zero stress sites were located at the edge of the St. Lawrence Lower Estuary (where high salinity is stable). Salinity was measured with a portable refractometer and a Castaway-type CTD (Conductivity-Temperature-Density) probe. The inventory was conducted using a stratified random sampling design and the sampling unit was a quadrat measuring 25 x 25 cm. The dataset provided includes information on abiotic factors (salinity, substrate type) as well as the presence of various species of macroalgae and benthic macroinvertebrates, identified to the lowest possible species or taxonomic level. To obtain the density and biomass of the various species identified, contact Marie-Valentine Loiseau.

This inventory is part of a doctoral study on global changes in the St. Lawrence system, mainly the study of marine benthic communities in response to changes in salinity, to ensure proper management of the environment in the face of future changes. The study has one main objective and four secondary objectives. The main objective is to describe the response of benthic communities in the mediolittoral zone to hypoosmotic stress (i.e. an abrupt decrease in salinity). Secondary objectives are: (1) To describe the structure and levels of specific and functional diversity of mediolittoral benthic macroinvertebrate and macroalgal communities along a salinity gradient; (2) To create a database of functional traits of interest for the most common species of the St. Lawrence marine mediolittoral zones ; (3) To measure the responses (mortality, growth rate, calorific content) of three species of molluscs in the mediolittoral zone to a hypoosmotic stress gradient and (4) To measure the responses of several species of benthic macroinvertebrates in the mediolittoral zone to several combined factors (hypoosmotic stress, acidification and turbidity increase).

This project was funded by DFO Coastal Environmental Baseline Program under Canada’s Oceans Protection Plan (OPP). This initiative aims at acquiring environmental baseline data that contribute to the characterization of important coastal areas and to support evidence-based assessments and management decisions, while preserving marine ecosystems.

Source identification:

Data

Loiseau, M.-V., Calosi, P., Gendreau, Y., & Cusson, M. (2021). Inventory of macroalgae and benthic macroinvertebrates along a hypoosmolarity stress gradient in Barthelemy Bay and the Colombier, Mistassini, Franquelin and Saint-Nicolas rivers of the Upper North Shore, Quebec (Version 1.0) [Data set]. Observatoire Global du Saint-Laurent. https://doi.org/10.26071/OGSL-4BB77D86-B94E

Show Permalink

Access and Use

Licence: Creative Commons Attribution 4.0

Data and Resources

Dates

Metadata Reference Date(s) May 31, 2021, 11:30 (UTC) (Creation)
May 31, 2021, 11:30 (UTC) (Revision)
Dataset Reference Date(s) March 31, 2021 (Creation)
March 31, 2021 (Revision)
Frequency of Update As Needed

Dataset extent

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Additional Info

Field Value
Ocean Variables Other
Scope Dataset
Status Pending
Maintenance Note
Point of Contact
  • Name: Section Gestion de données, Pêches et Océans Canada
    Affiliation: Pêches et Océans Canada
    Contact Info Email: gddaiss-dmaissb@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
    Role: Point of Contact
Responsible Party
  • Individual Name: Section Gestion de données, Pêches et Océans Canada
    Organisation Name / Affiliation: Pêches et Océans Canada
    Contact Info Email: gddaiss-dmaissb@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
    Role: Custodian
  • Individual Name: Marie-Valentine Loiseau
    Organisation Name / Affiliation: Université du Québec à Rimouski
    Contact Info Email: mvalentine.loiseau@gmail.com
    Role: Principal Investigator
  • Individual Name: Piero Calosi
    Organisation Name / Affiliation: Université du Québec à Rimouski
    Contact Info Email: piero_calosi@uqar.ca
    Role: Collaborator
  • Individual Name: Yanick Gendreau
    Organisation Name / Affiliation: Pêches et Océans Canada
    Contact Info Email: yanick.gendreau@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
    Role: Collaborator
  • Individual Name: Mathieu Cusson
    Organisation Name / Affiliation: Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
    Contact Info Email: mathieu.cusson@uqac.ca
    Role: Collaborator
Spatial Extent {"type": "Polygon", "coordinates": [[[-67.735, 49.334], [-68.98, 49.334], [-68.98, 48.794], [-67.735, 48.794], [-67.735, 49.334]]]}
North Bounding Latitude 49.334
South Bounding Latitude 48.794
East Bounding Longitude -67.735
West Bounding Longitude -68.98
Temporal Extent Begin: 2019-09-26
End: 2019-10-03
Vertical Extent
Default Locale French
Citation identifier Authority: doi.org
Code Space: 10.26071
Code: ogsl-4bb77d86-b94e
Version: 1
Version 1.0

Inventaire des macroalgues et des macroinvertébrés benthiques selon un gradient de stress d’hypoosmolarité de la baie Barthélemy et des rivières Colombier, Mistassini, Franquelin et Saint-Nicolas de la Haute-Côte-Nord, Québec

Cet inventaire, du 26 septembre au 3 octobre 2019, visait à décrire les structures en espèces puis en traits fonctionnels des communautés de macroalgues et de macroinvertébrés benthiques, provenant des petits estuaires de la Haute-Côte-Nord du Québec, soit la baie Barthélemy et les rivières Colombier, Mistassini, Franquelin et Saint-Nicolas. Trois niveaux de stress hypoosmotique et un niveau de contrôle (eau marine) ont été visés pour chacun des estuaires choisis, à raison de huit quadrats par niveau. Les sites du niveau de stress le plus élevé se trouvaient les plus proches de l’embouchure des rivières (où l’apport en eau douce est le plus important à marée basse) tandis que les sites de stress nul se trouvaient au bord de l’estuaire maritime du Saint-Laurent (où la salinité élevée est stable). La salinité a été mesurée avec un réfractomètre portable et une sonde CTD (Conductivity-Temperature-Density) de type Castaway. L’inventaire a été fait selon un plan d’échantillonnage aléatoire stratifié et l’unité d’échantillonnage était un quadrat mesurant 25 x 25 cm. Le jeu de données fourni comprend des informations sur les facteurs abiotiques (salinité, type de substrat) ainsi que sur la présence de diverses espèces de macroalgues et de macroinvertébrés benthiques, identifiées à l’espèce ou au niveau taxonomique le plus bas possible. Pour obtenir la densité et la biomasse des différentes espèces identifiées, communiquez avec Marie-Valentine Loiseau.

Cet inventaire fait partie d’une étude doctorale sur les changements globaux du système du Saint-Laurent, principalement l’étude des communautés benthiques marines face aux changements de salinité, pour assurer une bonne gestion de l’environnement face aux changements futurs. L’étude comprend un objectif principal et quatre objectifs secondaires. L’objectif principal est de décrire la réponse des communautés benthiques de la zone médiolittorale face à un stress hypoosmotique (soit une diminution abrupte de la salinité). Les objectifs secondaires sont : (1) Décrire la structure et les niveaux de diversités spécifique et fonctionnelle des communautés médiolittorales de macroinvertébrés et de macroalgues benthiques le long d’un gradient de salinité ; (2) Créer une base de données portant sur les traits fonctionnels d’intérêt des espèces les plus communes des zones médiolittorales marines du Saint-Laurent ; (3) Mesurer les réponses (mortalité, taux de croissance, contenu calorifique) de trois espèces de mollusques de la zone médiolittorale face à un gradient de stress hypoosmotique et (4) Mesurer les réponses de plusieurs espèces de macroinvertébrés benthiques de la zone médiolittorale face à plusieurs facteurs combinés (stress hypoosmotique, acidification et hausse de la turbidité).

Ce projet a été financé par le programme sur les données environnementales côtières de référence dans le cadre du Plan de protection des océans (PPO). Cette initiative vise l’acquisition de données environnementales de référence contribuant à la caractérisation de zones côtières d’importance ainsi qu’à favoriser les évaluations et les décisions de gestion fondées sur les données probantes, tout en préservant les écosystèmes marins.

Citation de la source:

Données:

Loiseau, M.-V., Calosi, P., Gendreau, Y., & Cusson, M. (2021). Inventaire des macroalgues et des macroinvertébrés benthiques selon un gradient de stress d’hypoosmolarité de la baie Barthélemy et des rivières Colombier, Mistassini, Franquelin et Saint-Nicolas de la Haute-Côte-Nord, Québec (Version 1.0) [Data set]. Observatoire Global du Saint-Laurent. https://doi.org/10.26071/OGSL-4BB77D86-B94E

Montrer le Permalien

Accès et utilisation

Licence: Creative Commons Attribution 4.0

Données et ressources

Dates

Date(s) de référence des métadonnées Mai 31, 2021, 11:30 (UTC) (Création)
Mai 31, 2021, 11:30 (UTC) (Révision)
Date(s) de référence du jeu de données March 31, 2021 (Création)
March 31, 2021 (Révision)
Fréquence de mise à jour Au besoin

Étendue du jeu de données

Données cartographiques © OpenStreetMap contributeurs

Info additionnelle

Champ Valeur
Variables Océaniques Autre
Portée Jeu de données
Statut En attente
Note de maintenance
Point de Contact
  • Titre: Section Gestion de données, Pêches et Océans Canada
    Affiliation: Pêches et Océans Canada
    Courriel de contact: gddaiss-dmaissb@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
    Rôle: Point de Contact
Partie Responsable
  • Nom de l'individu: Section Gestion de données, Pêches et Océans Canada
    Organisation / Affiliation: Pêches et Océans Canada
    Courriel de contact: gddaiss-dmaissb@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
    Rôle: Custodian
  • Nom de l'individu: Marie-Valentine Loiseau
    Organisation / Affiliation: Université du Québec à Rimouski
    Courriel de contact: mvalentine.loiseau@gmail.com
    Rôle: Chercheur principal
  • Nom de l'individu: Piero Calosi
    Organisation / Affiliation: Université du Québec à Rimouski
    Courriel de contact: piero_calosi@uqar.ca
    Rôle: Collaborator
  • Nom de l'individu: Yanick Gendreau
    Organisation / Affiliation: Pêches et Océans Canada
    Courriel de contact: yanick.gendreau@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
    Rôle: Collaborator
  • Nom de l'individu: Mathieu Cusson
    Organisation / Affiliation: Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
    Courriel de contact: mathieu.cusson@uqac.ca
    Rôle: Collaborator
Étendue Spatiale {"type": "Polygon", "coordinates": [[[-67.735, 49.334], [-68.98, 49.334], [-68.98, 48.794], [-67.735, 48.794], [-67.735, 49.334]]]}
Latitude limite Nord 49.334
Latitude limite Sud 48.794
Longitude limite Est -67.735
Longitude limite Ouest -68.98
Étendue temporelle Début: 2019-09-26
Fin: 2019-10-03
Étendue Verticale
Langue par défaut Français
Identifiant de citation Autorité: doi.org
Code Space: 10.26071
Code: ogsl-4bb77d86-b94e
Version: 1
Version 1.0